Mini-review: 21 Jump Street

21 Jump St relies too much on uncomfortable moments and awkward conversation for comedy. There’s a lot of strange dialogue that doesn’t quite work. But the moments that do work, do so very well. Schmidt and Jenko’s first arrest, the Youtube drugs video (“Over-falsity of confidence”), and the duo tripping at school are all hilarious moments. There’s a good send up of action films when the pair expect gas tanks to explode when shot. And the credits are great.

I watched Jump Street on a plane, and while I might have been driven demented from sleep deprivation, there were a number of moments where I had to pause the film because I was hitting the giggles and embarrassing myself. A film that causes me to make a tit of myself is deserving of praise.

Leave a Reply

