Mini book review: Dean Karnazes’ Ultramarathon Man

Dean Karnazes is inspiring. The running feats he mentions in Ultramarathon Man are jaw-dropping: 221 continuous miles, 135-miles through 130-degree temperatures, covering 100 miles to a marathon, then placing fifth in it. If Karnazes was a fictional character, I’d find his prowess unrealistic.

Imagine running for two days straight. Or having to run along a road’s edge, as the painted white line is the only thing that’ll reflect the sun strongly enough to stop your trainers melting. Can you imagine doing it? I can’t, my imagination still can’t compute that these things are humanly possible.

Ultramarathon Man is the first of Karnazes’ three books. As much as I enjoyed reading it, I doubt I’ll bother with the others. This one blew my mind several times, I doubt I’d be able to properly process any more of his unbelievable exploits.

I trust that every feat in this book is true. But it can’t be, can it?

It can.

*head explodes*

5 thoughts on “Mini book review: Dean Karnazes’ Ultramarathon Man

  1. It’s a fun read. If you enjoyed it, I’d recommend two others: Running on Empty by Marshall Ulrich, whose athletic feats are often more impressive than Mr. Karnazes, and Eat & Run by Scott Jurek. Both detail truly amazing feats that are seemingly impossible by mortal standards.

Leave a Reply

