New Post—on Aliens: Colonial Marines

I’ve written my first post on Medium.com, about the not-quite-perfect videogame Aliens: Colonial Marines. Click here to read it (only if you want). Again, I don’t like to discuss the quality of my writing when mentioning my posts, because oh god lagoon of sadness why do I do this etc etc. But I will take satisfaction from knowing that post is much better than it was originally shaping up to be. I’ve got nine different drafts of it in Google Docs. Nine.

I thought writing about a bad game would be easy—at least I’d have some emotional response to the game, instead of being trapped in Meh, uh, County, and I’d have a lot of stuff to comment on. Too much to comment on, it appeared, and I hard time reducing. I took my usual horrible approach to writing it: throwing together some notes, then fleshing them out one at a time without thought to structure. End result: an unordered list of points 4,000 words long.

For a change I was patient with editing, eventually finding a shape to hang those points on. I tied it together the best I could, then realised this was as good as I was going to get.

On the plus side, I got to post on Medium.com, a site that’s intrigued me for a while. Its text editor is a joy. I still think I’ll write my posts elsewhere and paste them over, but Medium is pretty.

My focus now is to find a more efficient writing method. I bought Scrivener (on sale for a grand total of £12) and, once I figure out how to use it, I’ll try and break my notes for longer posts into more manageable sections before I go longhand.

Leave a Reply

