New Posts: Nash and Ninja Turtles

I’ve got two new posts up on Medium. One about fading NBA star Steve Nash, and one about the live-action Ninja Turtles trilogy.

I have little interest in writing NBA profiles that span an NBA players career, replete with stats. Whereas basketball writing has moved from traditional boxscore numbers to more advanced stats, I’m more interested in avoiding numbers and writing about how watching a player feels. I’m influenced by The Classical’s Why We Watch section—I want to read a fan’s perspective, a personal insight on watching a player. Not that I accomplished that with the Nash post, but it’s at least on the road I want to follow further.

The Turtles one started out as bullet-points for a brief post here, then somehow lengthened into more of an essay. I have no idea how to write about films (hence the bullet-point posts like this and this); there’s no greater reminder of how little I understand cinema than trying to write about it. That said, despite that post being rushed and unbalanced, I’m somewhat proud of how it came out.

I’ve been thinking a lot lately about something I think Brendan Keogh said. To paraphrase, worry about writing a lot. Then worry about writing well. I’m starting to realise that I can spend so much time rewriting and editing and shuffling things around, but the writing won’t be as good as I want because I’m not as good as I want to be. These posts are just two of the 1,000 or 10,000,000 things I’d have to write before I get good at this writing malarkey. There are of course lessons in editing my work—I’m not going to just throw it out there soon as the first draft is finished. But right now it’s more important to publish and move on than to tinker excessively.

Leave a Reply

