The Interstellar Rewatch

SPOILERS

I watched Interstellar for the second time, after loving it in the cinema. Some notes:

1.
Interstellar looks and sounds amazing on Bluray, probably the best I’ve seen

2.
As the dad of a young girl, when Coop realises 23 years has passed on Earth while his crew farted about in shallow water still gets me in the Feels. Imagine seeing your kid at ten years-old, then next thing they’re 33. Brutal

3.
To those whose only comments regarding this film are about its dodgy science:
a) There’s a lot of (apparently) sensible physics behind it
b) It’s a film, stop being a bell-end. Do you know how hard it is to craft an engaging, entertaining story? If you’ve got to wrong science in some way that 99% of viewers won’t notice to do so, then that’s what you do
c) Wow, that last sentence is a stinker

4.
Matthew McConaughey, as far as I’m aware, didn’t lean against anything for Interstellar’s entire 2 hour 40 minute running time.

5.
Undoubtedly I’ve mentioned this before: why are film running times listed in minutes and not hours and minutes. In what other areas does this happen? Sports and…that’s all I can think. I can’t imagine friends going to the cinema and saying “Well, this is 170 minutes long so we can still meet Paul at 6 for cocktails”. When something runs for longer than an hour, list its time in hours and minutes. Bitch

6.
That some of these ‘planets’ actually exists and aren’t CGI still blows my mind

7.
Remembering that Coop is based on Chuck Yeager made me, once again, add Tom Wolfe’s The Right Stuff to my Amazon Wish List (though I still haven’t bought it)

8.
And I once again want to buy the Carhartt jacket that Coop wears

9.
It’s late. I’m tired. I shouldn’t have started this post, but I don’t want to revisit it, so I’m just going to post it unfinished and go to bed. Goodnight.

Leave a Reply

