Briefer Film Thoughts: The Martian,

Space spoilers ahead

1.
Brilliant film, although the ending was the least interesting part. My viewing of The Martian got interrupted, so I ended up watching the final few scenes two days after watching the rest. I wonder if that’s why I was less engaged. I’d been tense about Watney heading into orbit, even thinking about his chances of survival throughout my day. I really thought there was a possibility that, after all he’d gone through to survive, he might still fail at the very end. But when I actually witnessed his salvation, I wasn’t hugely engaged, despite being so into the film earlier.

2.
The intentionally shitty soundtrack worked and fitted really well. I’m not sure what that says about films

3.
The book this film is based on was first released for free on the author’s site. It feels like an internet book, if that makes any sense. I haven’t checked if they’re in the book or just the screenplay, but quotes like “space pirate” and “I’m gonna have to science the shit out of this” seem very much like the kind of thing you’d read online

4.
Eric Weinstein was spot on in calling The Martian ‘the ultimate high-agency movie’. Many protagonists have a puzzle to solve, but few have as many, and as many practical ones, as Watney did

One thought on “Briefer Film Thoughts: The Martian,

Leave a Reply

